Bendigo Pioneers girls to open season with AFLW curtain-raiser

Bendigo Pioneers girls pre-season training. Picture: DARREN HOWE
Bendigo Pioneers girls pre-season training. Picture: DARREN HOWE

THE Bendigo Pioneers' girls team will begin its 2020 NAB League season by playing an AFLW curtain-raiser at the QEO next month.

The Pioneers will take on the Western Jets in what will be a curtain-raiser to the AFLW match between Geelong and Richmond on Saturday, February 29.

The match against the Jets will be the first of nine home and away games for the Pioneers girls in what will be the fourth year of the NAB League Girls competition.

The Bendigo Pioneers' boys season will begin on Saturday, March 21, with a trip to Geelong's GMHBA Stadium to take on the Falcons.

Both the Pioneers' boys and girls under-18 teams have new coaches this season.

Damian Truslove, formerly a GWS Giants development coach, is coaching the boys, while Cherie O'Neill is coaching the girls.

Both teams will head interstate to play Tasmania at North Hobart on Sunday, April 18.

IN CHARGE: New Bendigo Pioneers girls coach Cherie O'Neill on the first night of pre-season training in November. Picture: DARREN HOWE

IN CHARGE: New Bendigo Pioneers girls coach Cherie O'Neill on the first night of pre-season training in November. Picture: DARREN HOWE

BENDIGO PIONEERS GIRLS FIXTURE:

ROUND 1

Saturday, February 29

v Western Jets

QEO, 11.30am

ROUND 2

Saturday, March 7

v Sandringham Dragons

Highgate Reserve, noon

ROUND 3

Sunday, March 15

v Calder Cannons

Epsom-Huntly, 1pm

ROUND 4

Saturday, March 21

v Geelong Falcons

Deakin Uni, 1.30pm

ROUND 5

Saturday, March 28

v Murray Bushrangers

Deakin Reserve, 11am

ROUND 6

Sunday, April 5

v Gippsland Power

Epsom-Huntly, 10am

ROUND 7

Saturday, April 18

v Tasmania

North Hobart, 10am

ROUND 8

Sunday, April 26

v Northern Territory

QEO, 10.15am

ROUND 10

Sunday, May 10

v Northern Knights

Preston City Oval, 12.15pm

HARD YAKKA: The Bendigo Pioneers kicked off their pre-season training back in late November. Picture: DARREN HOWE

HARD YAKKA: The Bendigo Pioneers kicked off their pre-season training back in late November. Picture: DARREN HOWE

BENDIGO PIONEERS BOYS FIXTURE:


ROUND 1

Saturday, March 21

v Geelong Falcons

GMHBA Stadium, 2.45pm

ROUND 2

Saturday, March 28

v Murray Bushrangers

Deakin Reserve, 3pm

ROUND 3

Saturday, April 4

v Gippsland Power

QEO, 10am

ROUND 4


Saturday, April 18


v Tasmania


North Hobart Oval, noon


ROUND 5

Sunday, April 26

v Northern Territory

QEO, noon

ROUND 7

Sunday, May 10

v Northern Knights

Preston City Oval, 2pm

ROUND 8

Sunday, May 17

v GWV Rebels

QEO, 1pm

ROUND 9

Sunday, May 31

v Oakleigh Chargers

Warawee Park, 2.15pm

ROUND 11

Sunday, June 14

v Geelong Falcons

Mars Stadium, 1.30pm

ROUND 13

Date TBC

v Murray Bushrangers

Victoria Park, Echuca

ROUND 14

Sunday, July 5

v Calder Cannons

Swan Hill, noon

ROUND 16

Sunday, July 19

v Northern Knights

QEO, 1pm

ROUND 17

Saturday, July 25

v Lions Academy

IKON Park, 1pm

ROUND 18

Sunday, August 2

v Western Jets

QEO, 1pm

ROUND 19

Sunday, August 16

v Gippsland Power

Mars Stadium, 12.30pm

This story Bendigo Pioneers girls to open season with AFLW curtain-raiser first appeared on Bendigo Advertiser.