Darke Peak Golf Open draws a crowd

On Sunday, August 11 the Darke Peak Golf Club hosted their annual Open Championship, sponsored by Ramsey Bros, Eyre Travel and Hunt's Fuel.

It was expected to be a fair turn out with the Darke Peak boys travelling well throughout the season to other Opens around the EP and what a turn out they got, 54 Men and five Women entered the championship representing 10 different clubs, the highest number of entrants for Darke Peak in a long time.

With the club's supplies well stocked and the weather reasonable everyone was set for a good day on course.

The field was divided into three divisions (men's) and set on their way.

Shannon Mathews took out the A grade Championship with a 69 off the stick followed by Brayden Fitzgerald with 72; Shannon Minhard (62) and Andrew Pietsch (66) were the Nett Winner and runner ups.

Ian Beeby recovered well from the night before taking out the B grade Gross winner with a 78 and Scott Elleway, only two shots behind on 80, awarded runner up.

Jamie Pearson also recovered okay from the night before with Beebs to receive the Nett winner (68) and runner up was Cody Pilgrim (69).

Phil Siviour (85) was the C grade Gross winner and Jay Schubert of Cleve the runner up (92).

The Nett Winner, also of Cleve, was one very happy Antony Crettenden (66) and runner up was Peter Couper hot on his heels with 67.

No-one in the A grade thought they were close enough to the pin to record it therefore it wasn't awarded, Daniel Bastian from the Cleve Golf Club took the title of longest drive.

The B grade saw Michael Roberts from Cowell with nearest to the pin and Paul Peters on his home course the longest drive.

The C grade nearest to the pin was taken out by Nett Winner Antony Crettenden and longest drive Neill Carr.

Liz Zwar had the Women's Championship all sewn up with a 85 off the stick, nearest to the pin and longest drive.

The Gross runner up was Kathy Roberts (92) and the Nett Winner/runner up were told to fight over their prizes when they refused to have a play off, both Sue Edwards and Angie Turner had a Nett 78.

The Teams Event was won by Phil Siviour (63), Noel Siviour (75), Andrew Pietsch (66) and Geoff Morgan (74) with a total of 278.

The Men's NAGA awarded to Ken Earea (117) and Ladies saw a change in guard in Pam Beinke (118).