Home premiership for Cowell

A GRADE: Cowell, from back, Carl Jaeschke, Zane Wykamp, Jarrad Schiller, Nick Gale, Judd Wykamp, Geoff Starr, front, Todd Schumann, John Close, Zac Crabb (c), Alec Klingberg, Mitchell Gibbs, Lewis Helps.
A GRADE: Cowell, from back, Carl Jaeschke, Zane Wykamp, Jarrad Schiller, Nick Gale, Judd Wykamp, Geoff Starr, front, Todd Schumann, John Close, Zac Crabb (c), Alec Klingberg, Mitchell Gibbs, Lewis Helps.

The 2018/19 A Grade Eastern Eyre Cricket Grand Final was hosted by Cowell on Saturday.

The oval presented immaculately and a big crowd gathered to watch Cowell take on Rudall.

Rudall won the toss and elected to bat.

Mick Noble and Caleb Evans began the innings to face Cowell opening bowlers Judd Wykamp and Jarrad Schiller.

Tight bowling resulted in a cautious start for Rudall with the opening partnership yielding fifteen runs before Evans, two runs, was out to the bowling of Wykamp.

Jed Burton joined Noble and 'anchored an end' while Noble went about building his innings.

Burton, one run from 23 balls, was out to Zane Wykamp who was bowling with great pace.

Todd Schumann was introduced into the bowling attack for Cowell.

Schumann was quickly rewarded with the wicket of Angus Slack, who periodically joined Noble before being caught for two runs.

Thomas Weiss and Noble worked on building a partnership.

Weiss was striking the ball cleanly before Schumann took his wicket for thirteen runs.

This brought Dave Smith to the crease who didn't take long to lift the run rate.

One huge six he struck, nearly clearing the clubhouse.

Smith's fifteen run, entertaining innings was short-lived, caught by Mitch Gibbs off Alec Klingberg's bowling.

This brought Johnny Noble in to bat with his brother Mick with the score 5/99.

Johnny, as expected, continued to lift the run rate with some hard and lofty hitting.

Accurate bowling from Klingberg found his wicket as Johnny, seventeen runs from nine balls, edged a ball high into the air and was caught by wicket keeper Zac Crabb.

Mick Noble continued to guide the Rudall innings as the next couple of wickets, for not a lot of runs, fell around him.

Mick was dismissed from the bowling of Zane Wykamp for a well made 64 runs.

Rudall were eventually all out for a very competitive 146 wickets with six balls to spare.

Pick of the bowlers for Cowell was Zane Wykamp who finished with figures three wickets for 24 runs from his eight overs.

Cowell opening batters Zac Crabb and Todd Schumann began Cowell's innings facing the bowling of Riley Evans and Johnny Noble.

It didn't take long for Evans to get the wicket of Crabb, four runs, a slippery catch by Smith at second slip.

Schumann, eight runs, didn't last too much longer, bowled by Johnny Noble.

These two early wickets put the game in Rudall's favour and brought Carl Jaeschke and Zane Wykamp to the crease.

Jaeschke continued his excellent form, finding the boundary at will.

The pair built a partnership of 42 before Jaeschke was caught on the boundary for a well made 42 from 51 deliveries.

The wicket of Zane Wykamp, nineteen runs, followed when Angus Slack took a brilliant catch at cover from the bowling of Mick Noble.

Nick Gale and Geoff Starr settled the innings and regained control of the match for Cowell leading into the drinks break 4/100.

After drinks, opening bowlers Johnny Noble and Riley Evans returned for Rudall, and didn't take long to remove Gale, nine runs, and Starr, fourteen runs.

The game at this stage evenly poised with Cowell 6/100, Rudall needing four more wickets and Cowell 47 runs.

Mitch Gibbs came to the crease with a positive attitude and struck the ball cleanly.

In a match defining innings that turned the momentum Cowell's way, Mitch began hitting regular boundaries.

He was eventually dismissed for 30 runs from 27 balls, leaving Cowell eleven runs to make with three wickets in hand.

The game was ready for another twist when Johnny Close was out to the bowling of Angus Slack in the 40th over, meaning Cowell needed a further seven runs with two wickets in hand.

Calm batting from Klingberg and Jarrad Schiller guided Cowell to a well-deserved victory in an exciting match.

Player of the Match was awarded to Zane Wykamp of Cowell.