Port Lincoln's Rooboy wins 52nd Lock Cup

The 52nd Lock Races attracted 425 people through the gates on Sunday to see Port Lincoln horse Rooboy take out the race of the day.

The Ramsay Bros/Case IH Lock Cup-winner, trained and owned by Port Lincoln trainer Darryl Carrison, was bred by Lock man Gerald Schlink, who was recently awarded a South Australian Jockey Club life membership.

The Trainer of the Day went to Trevor Trenowden of Ceduna with two first places, a second place and a fourth placing.

Eran Boyd took home the Jockey of The Day Trophy, having a great day with two firsts, one second, two thirds and a fourth placing.

It was a great effort by all jockeys who worked hard all day with six races held on the day and a total of seven jockeys, riding in most races.

Thirty-four horses travelled to Lock for the day from Ceduna, Port Augusta, Murray Bridge, Port Lincoln, Louth Bay, Gawler and Streaky Bay.

Trainers were pleased with the new stalls that had replaced a row of the original stalls.

The crowd enjoyed the great country atmosphere the Lock Races provides, keeping the country racing in the country. 

The day started off with fine conditions, reaching a top of 31 degrees. 

The grounds were in great condition, lawns were green with plenty of tables and chairs under the shady trees. 

There was food a with Lock Frosting and Sprinkles serving up an array of fresh foods and drinks, the Lock and District Services (LADS) providing fish and chips and the Lock Cricket Club keeping the crowd well hydrated.

The Fashions of the Field competition saw 20 women and four men strut their stuff to take home some amazing prizes. 

The most suitably dressed lady went to Demi O’Brien from Wudinna, followed by runner-up Stacey Georgiou, also from Wudinna.

The most suitably dressed man went to Brady Siviour of Arno Bay and runner-up was Lachlan Kerr of Wudinna.

The best race day hat went to Val Dunstan of Tumby Bay nd runner-up was Jacqui Wiseman of Lock. 


Race 1 – Murray Pest Control – Cleve/Lock Friendly Grocer – BM 54 Handicap 1000m

1st: Hectic, 2nd: Magnus Magic, 3rd: Liverpool Striker; 4th: Whistling Mikado

Race 2 – Lock Ag Services - Sabois Maiden Plate 1200m 

1st: Mr Jazz Man, 2nd: Lionstar, 3rd: Amber Diamonds, 4th: Hardaz

Race 3 – Gerald Schlink Lock Sprint 1200m

1st: The Headliner, 2nd: Cosmic Kheleyf, 3rd: John D’Non, 4th: More Than Most

Race 4 – Bill Hitchcock Memorial/West End/Wudinna Hotel Motel BM 60 Handicap 1400m

1st: Triumphant One, 2nd: Taskmaster, 3rd: My Colleague, 4th: Wrist Watch

Race 5 – Ramsay Bros/Case IH  52nd Lock Cup (3rd Leg 2018 Bill Holland Series) 1900m

1st: Rooboy, 2nd: Eye The World, 3rd: Zipalang, 4th: Betterthanyouthink

Race 6 – A & K Electrical and Engineering Benchmark 54 Handicap 1800m 

1st: Romulus Flight Trainer, 2nd: Tassie, 3rd: Penge, 4th: Patriot Code