Ladies keep on improving

Arno Bay Dirt Circuit held its first race meeting for the 2018 racing season on Saturday at Rehn’s Raceway.

The race meeting attracted a crowd of 306 spectators, which is quite large for this time of year, to watch the 47 nominated drivers.

It was great to see Beth Beggs-Brown, Dennis Cumerlato and Ian Ellis Junior get behind the wheel and have a go.

The modified class had 22 nominations for the night meeting but following round one, Shane Harris had brake issues while Adam Schmidt had fuel problems.

Harris was lucky enough to be able to use his brother Hayden’s car to continue racing for the night.

After round two, Simon Moore had issues with his car and he had to pull out for the night.

With only six street stock cars, the class was still very competitive all night especially with the Ellis boys battling for the top position.

Corey Gale had alternator issues in practice and also snapped a belt and unfortunately he did not make it back out on the track.

Kalvy Hartwig had numerous problems with his open wheeler last season but drove extremely well taking home first.

The race meeting attracted 306 spectators, which is quite large for this time of year.

Andrew Lear was back out on the track for the first time in a few years and it was good to see him back out racing with his son Taj.

The women are improving more and more each race meet, with six women nominated in Saturday’s race meeting.

Kate Morgan (W180) drove exceptionally well all night, starting the season with five firsts on the night.

Samantha Darling and Chloe Chenoweth both drove well as they fought for second position.

The club congratulated Arno Bay Dirt Circuit president Craig Chesson on being elected as the vice-president of the South Australian Dirt Circuit Association for 2018.

Arno Bay’s next race meet will be a night meeting on February 17 at Rehn’s Raceway and the club looks forward to seeing everyone there.

Arno Bay Dirt Circuit Club night meetings at Rehn’s Raceway have new race times, with the race meetings now starting at 4pm.

General meetings are held on the first Friday of the month at 8pm.