Second  win for Kimba

Eastern Eyre 9/152 def by Kimba 5/155

EASTERN Eyre hosted Kimba in the second round of the A grade Henderson shield on Saturday at Cleve. 

Kimba won the toss and bowled in overcast conditions.

The home side had a good start before Mick Noble was caught behind off Matt Ramsey for 12.

His partner Todd Schumann continued on with his good start before he was caught in cover off Reece Rayson for 27.

This started a collapse for the home team losing Tom Davey, Ethan Kwaterski, Jake Stutley, Zac Meyer and Brodie Pearson all for 48 runs.

Ryan Selkirk kept the side in it making 24 and when he went with the score on 103 it was up to Zac Crabb and Geoff Rissmann to add some respectability to the total.

They continued to bat the innings out with Crabb finishing on 15 and Rissmann out going for quick runs on 20 and home side finished their 50 overs on 9/152.

In reply, Kimba got off to a reasonable start, with the home side dropping some tough catches.

Openers Matt Vandeluer and Harrison Lienert combined for 43 before Lienert was caught behind off Selkirk for 18.

Kimba has won the first two rounds of Henderson Shield, and now sit second on the Henderson Shield A grade ladder by percentage, behind Port Lincoln.

Vandeluer continued on his way to 49 when he was caught off Kwaterski.

With a couple more wickets of Zane Stutley (one), Ben Shipard (seven), Josh Vandeluer (three), Eastern Eyre had half a sniff.

However, Shannon Larwood (39 not out) and Matt Ramsey (19no) got the Kimba side home in the 46th over.

After winning the first two rounds of Henderson Shield, Kimba sit second on the A grade ladder by percentage, behind Port Lincoln.

In the B grade, Kimba were unable to chase down Eastern Eyre’s total of 172, only hitting a total of 115 runs at the Rudall oval.

Eastern Eyre is sitting second on the B grade ladder, also by percentage behind Port Lincoln.

The Horgan Shield saw Eastern Eyre beat Kimba’s total of 8/145 by getting their own total of 4/149 at Cleve Area School at the weekend, leaving them second on the ladder behind Port Lincoln.

Finals will be held on Sunday, February 4.