Rudall cricketers win the junior 2017 grand final


WINNERS: The Rudall junior cricket team won the 2017 grand final against Darke Peak. Names in story.

WINNERS: The Rudall junior cricket team won the 2017 grand final against Darke Peak. Names in story.

Rudall 2/93 def Darke Peak 6/89

THE Rudall junior cricket team scored back-to-back victories in the Eastern Eyre Cricket Association junior cricket grand final, beating Darke Peak at Cleve. 

Cool conditions greeted the big crowd and players lining up to watch and enjoy the tight tussle between the two teams. 

Rudall and Darke Peak have had many great encounters during the year, with mixed results. 

Darke Peak were delighted to be fielding a team in the grand final after not having a junior team for many years. 

It was all set to be a great grand final with parents and visitors enjoying the atmosphere. 

Darke Peak won the toss and sent in Jez Schubert and Riley Haines to open the run tally. 

Caleb Evans for Rudall opened the bowling attack with a maiden over.

Schubert then found the boundary off Hank Burton’s first over and the runs started hitting the board. 

Runs for Darke Peak steadily increased and it was not until Rudall changed its bowling attack that the team scored its first wicket, Riley Haines caught behind off Riley Evans.

Darke Peak then steadied with Schubert and Kyron McCallum establishing a good partnership.

Schubert retired with a well-deserved 26, as did McCallum on 25.

Unfortunately for Darke Peak, wickets then fell in quick succession.

Rudall were dominant in the field with two run-outs.

Dustin Harris played a good supportive innings, remaining at the crease for several overs, while Rudall’s young bowlers  Oakley Price and Curtis Newlyn took wickets.

At the end of the allocated 28 overs, Darke Peak were 6/89.

Rudall’s openers Caleb Evans and Jayden Fridd, began the run chase slowly, but remained at the crease for 11 overs, until Fridd was caught by Harris off K. McCallum’s bowling.

C. Evans, after being dropped early, batted a fine innings to retire on 26. 

Hank Burton and Brayden Crosby held a tremendous partnership while Darke Peak were consistent with the ball.

Burton also retired on 25 and Riley Evans joined Crosby for the last few remaining runs.

Crosby was finally stumped off Harris’ bowling.

Rudall had passed the score and were victorious giving them back-to-back premierships.

Pictured are: Back: coach Jason Burton, Hank Burton, Caleb Evans, Jayden Fridd, Tedd Weiss, Curtis Newlyn, Brayden Crosby; Rodney Elson; front: Oakley Price, Jed Burton, Tex Price, Angus Dunn, Josh Crosby and Riley Evans.